Removes the dust sheets, evicts the possum from the chimney

Hello!

It has been a while, hasn’t it.  (I say that a fair bit, don’t I.)  I tend not to think of self-promotion for my art until I’m grabbed by the back of the head and thrust into it nose-first.  Then I have to sit over there and think about what I’ve done.  (Which is, usually, flap around about deadlines and producing good work and then forget about the rest of it.)

Well.  What I have done, when not being consumed by the rest of my muggle life in the past year is:

Receive second place in the drawing category for the Ipswich Art Awards for my piece “Sunken Forest, Arnhem Land” as judged by Ben Quilty (!!!!)

11127607_10205017841620664_6483120041407361413_n (1)

I was honoured to be selected by the Ipswich Art Gallery to display my work in their People, Place exhibition back in January.  In that I covered ground that I have before, in drawing burlesque girls, an idea that I thought I was done with, but you do what you’ve got to do when you’ve got a short deadline.  It was still rewarding, in that I produced one of my favourite pieces (more about her another day).  I also discovered that I have progressed enough that I can bring things to life one early Sunday morning when the piece I was working on started looking back at me

12310523_10206404753812602_3541406744342988124_n

She gave me such a fright I had to take myself out for breakfast.  Far too much Dorian Grey for so early in the day.

This has since opened up a whole new train of thought for my next solo, which so far involves a lot of research into Renaissance art and will hopefully develop into my being able to portray coherent ideas about how women have been erased from history, art history in particular.  We’ll see how that one goes.  So far it has just meant that my trip to the Lifeline Bookfair was very heavy and full of incident and I’m reading a few pages of Vasari before sleeping.

Anyway, next we get to the good bit, the reason why I presume you have found me.  In February, Glen Smith, our local tireless, passionate arts advocate finally (after probably a year of trying on his part) got word that he can bring a group of artists from Ipswich to display their work at the Regional Arts House in Teneriffe, Brisbane.  Here are the details if you’re curious – https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/a-handful-of-ipswich-artists-tickets-21647223428

I was fortunate enough to be one of those invited.  I’ve created two new pieces specifically for this show, and experimented with entirely different (to me) techniques and mediums, which I’ll be posting about shortly.  A Handfull of Artists From Ipswich runs until the 23rd of April and if you are around I do suggest having a look.  There are a lot of talented people taking part and I’m sure you’ll find it worth your while.

In honour of this exhibition, I’ll be posting here daily while it runs.  You lucky ducks.

12821540_10207049480770373_5856569519881589945_n

 

Leave a Reply

